

Lafayette Regional School, Annual Meeting March 14, 2024 . 7:30 P.M.

Present:

Board	• LAF
 Amy Mullins, Chair 	o Amy Kopp, Principal
 Megan Detamore, Vice Chair 	• SAU
 Nicole MacKay 	 Kate Segal, Superintendent
 Joseph Garrison 	 Toni Butterfield, Business Manager
o Gail Clark	

Ballot Clerks:

Franconia	Easton	Sugar Hill
Stephen Schwartz	Beth Harwood	Jordan Applewhite
Monica LaFlamme	Tambra Gearhart	Jae Kim
	Darrel Gearhart	John Colony

Voting: 7:00 p.m. -7:30 p.m.

7:30 p.m.

- Moderator Walker called the polls closed and called the business portion of the meeting to order.
- Nick DeMayo led the meeting attendees in the Pledge of Allegiance.
- Moderator Walker made introductions
- Moderator Walker proceeded to read the School Warrant.

Article 01: To choose all necessary officers for the School District for the ensuing year.

- This was accomplished by voting.
- **Article 02:** To hear the reports of Officers, Auditors, or Committees of the District and to pass any vote relating thereto.
 - Motion made by Ned Brewer to approve. Motion seconded by Tim Burnell. All in favor.
- Article 03: To see if the District will vote to raise and appropriate the amount of \$3,310,821 for the support of schools, for the payment of salaries for the school district officials and agents, and for the payment for the statutory obligations of the district. This article does not include appropriations contained in special or individual articles addressed separately. (Majority Vote Required)
 - Motion made by Cindy Burnell to raise and appropriate the amount of \$3,310,821 for the support of schools, for the payment of salaries for the school district officials and agents, and for the payment for the statutory obligations of the district. Motion seconded by Tim Burnell.

Presentation made by Lafayette Regional School Principal, Amy Kopp

- School Mission Statement
- Lafayette Regional Schools' current ranking as one of the top elementary schools in NH, only north country school. The State Assessment Scores were shared.
- The presentation then gave detail around the 2024-2025 Budget by function.
 - For each function, she presented the actual amount change vs. FY 2023, and the percentage change vs. FY 2024.
 - She provided a narrative regarding the rationale for the notable changes (increases and decreases), and noted that overall the budget had increased by \$120,752 or 3.94%, over the previous year.
 - 84% of the increase was out of the control of the school (due to contractual agreements, insurance, salaries, etc.)
- A discussion followed, with Amy Kopp receiving and answering a number of questions related to the budget presentation.

Captured Discussion points:

- Nick DeMayo, Sugar Hill-Thanked Amy Kopp and staff.
 - Thanks given for veterans day assembly
 - Questioned pricing per student- "How was the Budget done"
 - Looked at last year's line items that needed to be changed based on prices rising. Worked to find ways to take items out.
 - Reminder to keep awareness
- Michael Rhodes, Sugar Hill
- Spoke in support of the changes made.

- Tim Burnell, Franconia
 - Shared more about the process of the Budget Committee
 - Main questions driving the work→ Where is the budget?
 How much is it going to be over last year?
 - This was the hardest year for the committee. There were wants that would've helped the kids that were turned down.

- Jill Brewer, Franconia
- Thanked the school board and budget committee for their hard work
- Kent Foss, Franconia
 - Are there concerns about this budget being able to maintain this level
 - There are currently no concerns of student services being negatively impacted
- Cindy Burnell, Franconia
 - Shared the process of Budget making.
 - There was no decision made casually.

The Moderator called for a vote on Article 03.

MOTION PASSED

Majority in favor (with 2 opposed)

• Motion made by Cindy Burnell to move for no further reconsideration on Article 03. Motion seconded by Joe Garrison. All in favor.

Article 04: To see if the District will vote to raise and appropriate up to the sum of \$50,000.00 to be added to the BUILDING AND GROUNDS MAINTENANCE AND EXPENDABLE TRUST FUND previously established. This sum to come from June 30 fund balance available for transfer on July 1. No amount to be raised by additional taxation. (Majority Vote Required)

• Motion made by Cindy Burnell to raise and appropriate up to the sum of \$50,000.00 to be added to the BUILDING AND GROUNDS MAINTENANCE AND EXPENDABLE TRUST FUND previously established. This sum to come from June 30 fund balance available for transfer on July 1. No amount to be raised by additional taxation. Motion seconded by Tim Burnell.

- Motion made by Joe Garrison to amend the amount to be added to the BUILDING AND GROUNDS MAINTENANCE AND EXPENDABLE TRUST FUND to \$0.00. Motion seconded by Amy Mullins.
 - Change Explanation given by Joe Garrison- Looking at the General Fund, that money is no longer available.

Motion made to accept the amendment

MOTION PASSED AS AMENDED.

Article 4 now reads:

Article 04:

To see if the District will vote to raise and appropriate up to the sum of \$0 to be added to the BUILDING AND GROUNDS MAINTENANCE AND EXPENDABLE TRUST FUND previously established. This sum to come from June 30 fund balance available for transfer on July 1. No amount to be raised by additional taxation. (Majority Vote Required)

Article 05: To transact any other business that may legally come before this meeting.

- Moderator Walker thanked the School Board and Ballot Clerks. He congratulated Michael Rhodes on his election to the School Board,
- Amy Mullins thanked outgoing School Board Member Gail Clark for her all she has done in her role on the School Board
- Motion made by Michael Rhodes to adjourn the meeting. Motion seconded by Tim Burnell. All in favor.

Meeting adjourned at 8:15 p.m.

A record of the Lafayette Regional School District Annual Meeting held March 14, 2024 in Franconia, NH.

Sincerely,

Emily Goldman, Clerk Lafayette Regional School District

School Board Results:

Sugar Hill: Michael Rhodes 24 Cornelia 0 Nick DeMayo 2

Moderator Results:

Easton: James Walker 8 **Sugar Hill:** James Walker 22

Franconia: James Walker 21 Ed Hanslic 1 Empty 2